Applying for a Temporary or Restricted License in South Carolina?

A DUI conviction can be a life-altering event. Not only is it a criminal offense that could result in jail time and show up on your background checks, but it can also prove to make life very inconvenient and difficult for years after the fact.

Many DUI convictions result in losing your driver’s license, regardless of whether you’ve already paid hefty fees or served jail time. In South Carolina, even your first DUI conviction can cost you your license for up to 6 months.

To make matters worse, the State isn’t required to wait until you are convicted before they are permitted to confiscate your driver’s license. You only have to be suspected of driving under the influence for an officer to legally seize your driving privileges. If you were pulled over under the suspicion of drunk driving and refused to take a breathalyzer test, or you took the breathalyzer and blew above a 0.15, an officer can take possession of your license.

Luckily, there are a few remedies available that can get you back on the road:

Temporary Restricted License

You may be eligible to receive a temporary, alcohol-restricted license that allows you to drive while you await your court date.

In order to do this you must take the following steps immediately after having your license confiscated:

  • Request an Administrative Hearing from the DMV by submitting your original Notice of Suspension and the $200 filing fee
  • Pay the required $100 reinstatement fee to the DMV
  • Show proof of your pending Administrative Hearing by furnishing the detailed paperwork you filed requesting the hearing and proof of payment

This process can take up to 7 business days, so it’s important that you begin taking the above steps immediately after a DUI stop.

It is also important to note that should your formal DMV hearing result in a conviction, your temporary alcohol-restricted license will also be confiscated and deemed invalid.

Special Restricted License

Should you be convicted of a DUI and your license is confiscated, you may still be able to obtain a special restricted license.

This license will allow you to only drive to and from work or school, provided that your work or school is over 1 mile away from your home, and no public transportation is available.

Exceptions

Your blood alcohol content, previous convictions, and any injury to others as a result of your driving under the influence will all weigh heavily on the options available to you.

Depending on the aforementioned circumstances you may not qualify for a temporary restricted or special restricted license, and could even be facing long-term license loss or jail time.

Contact Us

Even if this is your first DUI offense, you’ll want a defense attorney well-versed in South Carolina DUI law and DMV hearings by your side. Don’t gamble with your future. Let the Greg McCollum Legal Defense Team walk you through the post-DUI process, and afford you the best chance at getting back on the road, and back to everyday life.

Share this on...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someone

Written by Greg McCollum CLDT

Greg McCollum CLDT

At the Complete Legal Defense Team we represent, assist, and defend people who are accused of crimes. Being accused of a crime is a harrowing experience. You experience public shame and humiliation and do not know where to turn for help. We are experienced and knowledgeable and will take immediate steps to begin repairing your life. We evaluate how the allegation affects your reputation in the community, how it affects your time and your life, and how it will affect you financially. Believe it or not, many people who are arrested and charged with crimes are innocent.